Child pages
  • Repository
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Repository is a storage space in the Operations Console for template workflows and other useful components in Flux like an engine configuration. Once a workflow is saved to the Repository, it's available for editing at any time by any user with access to the Operations Console (and sufficient permissions to access the Repository).

Starting a Workflow

A workflow that is saved to the Repository will not automatically run on its own. This is true even if the workflow in the Repository has a trigger that uses a time- or event-based schedule.

To begin running a workflow (or to schedule its first execution) from the repository, you'll just need to select the workflow from the Repository grid and press the "Start" button. This will export the workflow to the engine, where Flux can begin scheduling or executing it.

Editing a Workflow

To edit a workflow, select it from the Repository grid and choose "Edit". This will display the workflow in the Designer, where you can make changes to it and resave to the Repository or just directly export to the engine (if you do export to the engine without saving, though, be aware that the copy of the workflow in the Repository will not be updated with any changes you made).

You can edit workflows in the Repository even if they were uploaded from an .ffc file on the system or saved to the engine using an external Java API client.

Saving and Verifying Workflows

As you build your workflows using the Designer, you can use the "Save" and "Quick Save" buttons to save your working copy to the Repository.

The "Save" button will verify your workflow before saving. When your workflows are verified, Flux will check to ensure that all required properties have been set, and there are no illegal / invalid arguments present on any actions or flows.

If you prefer to save your workflow without performing this verification, use the "Quick Save" option instead, which skips the verification step. In this case, the message "Not Verified" will appear in the workflow description in the Repository view, to indicate verification has not yet been performed.

Promote a Workflow between Environments

In Flux, promotion allows you to copy items from the repository of one cluster to the repository of another (for example, to copy a workflow from Development to QA or Production, or to transfer a configuration from one environment to another).

To promote engines between environments, you need to modify the opsconsole8.properties in the .flux directory located under the user home directory that is running Flux. Normally this directory contains something like the following:

engine1=

engine1.host=test

engine1.port=7520

engine1.preferencelevel=0

engine1.ssl=true

To support promoting workflows between repositories you need to add the following - pointing to the Flux engine that you want to promote workflows to:

env1=

env1.host=production

env1.port=7520

env1.preferencelevel=0

env1.ssl=true

Save the opsconsole8.properties file and restart the opsconsole web application service.

To promote an item, just find the item in the repository you want to promote from, then select it and click the "Promote" button. This will bring up the promote dialog, where you can select which cluster you want to promote the item to. From there, follow the directions on-screen to complete the promotion.

Once the item has been promoted, you can navigate to the repository of the destination cluster, where you should find the newly promoted item waiting.

Security

Since promotion involves transferring an item from one cluster to another, there are a few security concerns that might arise. To ensure that you'll be able to promote items successfully, just make sure your clusters follow these guidelines (see ?Security for more information about the permissions discussed below):

  1. In the source cluster, the user who will perform the promotion must have at least "View" and "Promote" permissions for each namespace that they will need to promote.
  2. In the target cluster, there will need to be a user account with "Edit" permissions in the namespaces to be promoted. There are two ways the user who promotes from the source cluster will be able to use this account on the target cluster:
    1. If the same user account that is being used from the source cluster also exists on the target, Flux will attempt to automatically log in using the same username and password. If this fails,
    2. The user will be prompted to enter the username and password for a user on the target system. This should be the username and password of the user with "Edit" permissions on the target.
  • No labels